Video Bar


Wednesday, September 2, 2015

The Queen becomes Britain's longest serving monarch this month - but who has she beaten to get.

On September 9 2015 the Queen will overtake Queen
Victoria to become Britain’s longest reigning
monarch with a reign of more than 63 years 216
It’s a feat now unlikely ever to be surpassed, but who
else has she overtaken on the way?
Since the Act of Union 1707 united England and
Scotland to form Great Britain there have been 12
monarchs of the Kingdom – three women and nine
The countries shared a monarch with Ireland but
were not officially united with the country until 1801
when the United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Ireland was formed.
After most of Ireland left in 1922 the name was
changed again to the United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland.
Here are the 12 British Monarchs and the length of
their reigns.